<< GO BACK

What are stock market holidays?


May 1, 2020, 14:04 PM

The U.S. stock markets, New York Stock Exchange and NASDAQ, observe eight full-day market holidays every year.

The stock market is closed every year in observation of the following holidays: New Years Day, Martin Luther King Jr. Day, Washington's Birthday/Presidents' Day, Good Friday, Memorial Day, Independence Day, Labor Day, Thanksgiving Day, and Christmas Day.

The 2020 stock market holiday schedule is listed as follows, including all modifications to normal trading hours of 9:30 a.m. EST to 4:00 p.m. EST:

 New Years Day  FULL-DAY CLOSURE  Wednesday, January 1, 2020 
 Martin Luther King Jr. Day  FULL-DAY CLOSURE
 Monday, January 20, 2020 
 Presidents' Day  FULL-DAY CLOSURE  Monday, February 17, 2020
 Good Friday  FULL-DAY CLOSURE  Friday, April 10, 2020 
 Memorial Day  FULL-DAY CLOSURE  Monday, May 25, 2020 
 Independence Day  FULL-DAY CLOSURE  Friday, July 3, 2020
 Labor Day  FULL-DAY CLOSURE  Monday, September 7, 2020 
 Thanksgiving Day  FULL-DAY CLOSURE  Thursday, November 26, 2020
 Day after Thanksgiving  MODIFIED HOURS  Friday, November 27, 2020
 Christmas Eve  MODIFIED HOURS  Thursday, December 24, 2020
 Christmas Day  FULL-DAY CLOSURE
 Friday, December 25, 2020

 
The 2021 stock market holiday schedule is listed as follows, including all modifications to normal trading hours of 9:30 a.m. EST to 4:00 p.m. EST:

 New Years Day  FULL-DAY CLOSURE  Friday, January 1, 2021
 Martin Luther King Jr. Day  FULL-DAY CLOSURE
 Monday, January 18, 2021
 Presidents' Day  FULL-DAY CLOSURE  Monday, February 15, 2021
 Good Friday  FULL-DAY CLOSURE  Friday, April 2, 2021
 Memorial Day  FULL-DAY CLOSURE  Monday, May 31, 2021
 Independence Day   FULL-DAY CLOSURE  Friday, July 5, 2021
 Labor Day  FULL-DAY CLOSURE   Monday, September 6, 2021
 Thanksgiving Day  FULL-DAY CLOSURE   Thursday, November 25, 2021
 Day after Thanksgiving  MODIFIED HOURS  Friday, November 26, 2021
 Christmas Day (observed)  MODIFIED HOURS  Friday, December 24, 2021


On the day after Thanksgiving (in 2020 and 2021) and on Christmas Eve (in 2020), markets will close early at 1:00 p.m. EST, though still opening on time at 9:30 a.m. EST.

If you are ever trading markets outside of the U.S. markets on U.S. stock market holidays, please proceed with caution. On holidays when the U.S. markets are closed, liquidity can be dangerously low as overall trading will drop off sharply.



<< GO BACK

A Schaeffer's exclusive!

The Expert's Guide

Access your FREE trading earning announcements before it's too late!


 
 

Partnercenter


NEW! Explore Schaeffer’s Partners' deals and get connected to top online brokerages with deals tailored exclusively for our readers.  Get answers to your questions regarding transfer fees, commission rates, programs and available discounts related to online trading services.

MORE | MARKETstories


Research Exposes Shortcut to Stock Market Wins
A simple way to stop picking losers, and start cashing in like Wall Street's elite.
Google Postpones Android Reveal, "Now is Not the Time to Celebrate"
"Now is not the time to celebrate," Google said in a message on its website
ZNGA Zooms to 8-Year High on Billion-Dollar Deal
ZNGA is planning to buy Peak for $1.8 billion
Huge New Legal Marijuana Market Has Shortage Crisis
250 million Europeans have access to medical marijuana. There's already a shortage....